The Patterns

Seven Core Pathways

January 22, 2016


The new FREE Becoming Five assessment looks at three different perspectives: past, present, and future. Each perspective is independently scored relative to the five levels of multiplication, and a unique three digit score or pattern is assigned (e.g. 1-1-5, 3-4-5). There are 125 different possible patterns between 1-1-1 and 5-5-5. However, many of these patterns such as 5-1-1 are meaningless and are not included in the core patterns. The net result is seven key or core patterns that most churches will test into. Patterns are useful by giving us a snapshot of where we’ve been, where we are, and where we’d like to go. The Becoming Five resource library will be expanded to link recommended resources to each specific pattern, thereby equipping churches to lean into their future aspirations.

Aspiring Pattern

These churches have been at Level 1 and 2 but aspire to move to Levels 4 and 5. These churches must first internalize the value of multiplication to then transform their behaviors.

Advancing Pattern

These churches have moved from Level 1 or 2 to Level 3, and now seek to move to Level 4 or 5. They are aggressively advancing and now must overcome the strong tension in Level 3.

Breakout Pattern

These churches have been stuck (or happy) at Level 3. They now seek to breakout to Level 4 or 5, but must overcome the strong restraining tension at Level 3.

Reproducing Pattern

These churches have already moved from Level 3 to Level 4. They continue to feel the tension from Level 3, and would like to continue increasing to Level 5.

Addition Pattern

These churches have a strong addition growth scorecard at Level 3. They’ve not yet embraced a future aspiration for multiplication, possibly caught in the grip of addition culture.

Survivor Pattern

These churches are any pattern with a future pointing to Level 2. These churches may be struggling to keep their heads above water, and have difficulty seeing beyond survival thinking.

Recovery Pattern

Any pattern dropping from past to present and then increasing in the future to Level 4 or 5. These churches have experienced growth in their history followed by some difficulties.

B5 active

Related Articles